alternative housing…crazy

I got an email today from my mother and the first line says “have you seen this”.  This is usually followed by some random cutesy thing that makes me chuckle and I move on (Mom’s are great aren’t they?), but today there was an odd surprise waiting for me.

I’m always on the lookout for new ways to think about the “home” (house, abode, domicile, pad, whatever), hence my growing interest obsession with shipping containers and their potential to reshape the way we think about building traditional residential architecture.  THIS on the other hand takes the idea of “upcycling” to a whole new level.  This is a Boeing 727 – YES an AIRPLANE – that was purchased, moved to site and renovated into a home for around $30k.  I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking “what the F*&^!”…yeah, that’s pretty much what my reaction was too.  But then I looked at the images and there seems to be a great deal of living space within the fuselage.  At least 2 bedrooms and possibly two baths, and, really, you can’t beat the view.  Take a look and let me know what you think.  For me, this is genius architecture…

all images courtesy of powersiteblog.com

About Jeremiah

Birth: April 6 - Upstate New York Education: Savannah College of Art and Design Bachelor of Fine Art - 2003 Masters of Architecture - 2003 Member AIA National since 2004 Member AIA Florida since 2004 Member AIA Jacksonville since 2004 Member Emerging Design Professionals Jacksonville since 2006 Emerging Design Professional President 2009-2010 View all posts by Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

